Ensure adequate access roads and parking in graveyard plan

Complaints & suggestion on anything from A to Z... traffic, highway, toll, summons, parking, police, patrol & etc etc

Ensure adequate access roads and parking in graveyard plan

Postby admin » Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:13 am

I AM a resident of Bukit Jalil and aware that there are plans to convert a section of the area into a cemetery.

I have no objection to the plan but I do hope that the authorities responsible will ensure that the best interests of the residents are taken into consideration.

The most important consideration would be traffic management, especially during the days when we pay our respects to the dead for example on All Souls Day, Qing Ming and Hari Raya.

Priority must be given to ensure that new roads are built to access the cemetery without compromising existing ones.

Adequate parking facilities must be provided to ensure that cars are not parked in front of residents’ houses or along residential roads.

Currently, the Bukit Jalil/Puchong bypass is already congested and there are bad traffic jams every day, especially during peak hours.

As it is, every time there are sporting events or performances held at the Bukit Jalil Stadium, the roads in and out of Bukit Jalil are chock-a-block.

This is compounded by the fact that the Bukit Jalil/Puchong bypass is a very long stretch of road with hardly any U-turns or tributary roads where traffic can be diverted.

We have heard of commitments given by large developers in that area that several interchanges will be built to ease traffic congestion but until now, we have yet to see anything being done.

Housing developments are sprouting and thousands of new houses, shophouses and apartments are expected to be delivered to buyers within the next year or two.

The existing roads are certainly incapable of dealing with such expansions.