Angry with double- parking menace

Parking ticket & compound by Municipal Council, JPJ, PDRM, DBKL, MPPJ, MPSJ, other Majlis Perbandaran and dewan bandaraya in Malaysia... where to pay, how to pay, the amount to pay etc. Car park, Parking tout, parking hazard, parking contractor and everything about parking.

Angry with double- parking menace

Postby admin » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:32 am

I have been parking in SS15, Subang Jaya, every day for the past two years. It has never been an easy task negotiating narrow roads what with all the double-parking by irresponsible drivers. My car has been blocked countless times throughout these two years and I have been very patient knowing that I can’t do much about it.

However, a recent incident made me so furious that it lead me to write this letter.

I had parked my car in a legal parking spot and paid for the parking ticket when I reached SS15. When the time came for me to leave, I found that my car was blocked by a double-parked car.

I honked a few times expecting the driver to turn up and move the car. To my disbelief, nobody turned up and I had to keep honking for about 15 minutes! I noticed that the driver had the nerve to pay for the parking ticket despite knowing that his/her car was parked illegally. I was parked in front of the SS15 Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ) office.

I proceeded to a nearby MPSJ van and told the officer that the particular car was blocking my car.

I asked him if it was possible to tow the car away as I have often seen illegally parked cars in SS15 being towed away. He told me that there were no tow trucks available.

I then asked if he could at least issue a summons to the driver concerned for not parking his car in a proper parking spot and double parking to boot. The officer’s reply was: “Tak boleh lah, tak ada.” What was that supposed to mean?

I stormed off and continued to honk for the next 15 minutes before the obviously uneducated and uncivilised driver turned up to move the car.