Kejara System in Detail

All about demerit points under the Kejara System which you accumulate when you encountered an accident,

Kejara System in Detail

Postby admin » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 am

A system to award demerit points to drivers of motor vehicles who have been convicted of scheduled offences under the Motor Vehicles (Demerit Points) Rules 1997.

Objectives of the Kejara System

* To increase awareness of drivers on the importance of complying with road traffic laws and rules.
* To create disciplined, responsible and considerate drivers.
* To help the government reduce the accident rate.

Implementation of the Kejara System

The Kejara System is implemented in accordance with Sections 35, 35A, 37 and 38 of the Road Transport Act 1987 and Motor Vehicles (Demerit Points) Rules 1997.

The demerit points of a driver will be accumulated in the RTD database (Sikap System) when the driver is convicted by the court or after paying the fine for a scheduled offence that has been committed.

Penalties imposed under the Kejara System

Penalties imposed on CDL holders who accumulate 15 or more demerit points

* First Time - suspension of driving licence for a period not exceeding 6 months

* Second Time - suspension of driving licence for a period not exceeding 12 months

* Third Time - suspension of driving licence for a period not exceeding 12 months; and

- revocation of driving licence if the offence is repeated for the third time in a period of 5 years.

Tip The P licence shall be revoked when the driver has accumulated 10 or more demerit points.

A driver whose CDL licence has been suspended shall not drive or obtain a licence, whether a learner’s driving licence or otherwise, to drive a vehicle of any class during the period of suspension. A driver whose driving licence (‘P’ licence) has been suspended shall not drive or obtain a licence, whether a learner’s driving licence or otherwise of any class for a period of twelve months from the date of the surrender of the licence.

Penalty: Driving on a suspended or revoked driving licence shall be liable to a fine of RM1,000.00 or six (6) months’ imprisonment.

Awarding of Bonus

Seven (7) demerit points will be taken off for a CDL licence holder who obtains less than 15 demerit points and who does not commit any scheduled offence for a period of 24 consecutive months.

Scheduled offences and demerit points imposed

Driving or being in charge of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. 15

Reckless or dangerous driving. 15

Careless or inconsiderate driving. 15
Illegal racing. 15

A person who, without reasonable excuse, fails to provide a specimen of breath, blood or urine when required to do so by a police officer. 15

Failing to obey traffic light. 10

Exceeding speed limit imposed on a road or vehicle
- exceeding 40 km/h 10
- exceeding 26 km/h - 40 km/h 8
- exceeding 1 km/h - 25 km/h 6

Offences relating to overtaking and obstruction of overtaking. 8

Failing to give right of way to ambulance, fire engine or police vehicle. 8

Offence committed by driver at pedestrian crossing. 8

Offences related to driving on the left hand side of the road. 8

Failing to stop at intersections. 8

Neglecting to exercise due control over movement of vehicle. 8

Using motor vehicle on restricted roads. 5

Disobeying traffic directions and signs. 5

Using bald tyres. 5

Overtaking on double lines (continuous line). 5

Failing to comply with conditions attached to a probationary driving licence [rule 15A of the Motor Vehicle (Driving Licence) Rules 1992] :

i Failing to carry the probationary licence while driving 5
ii Failing to display a distinguishing mark conspicuously in accordance with the diagram in the Sixth Schedule of the said rules. 10
ii Failing to ensure that the proportion of alcohol in the breath, blood or urine is at 0.00 level. 5
Posts: 3811
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Return to The Road Safety Demerit Points - Kejara System

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

  • Lazada Malaysia Lazada Malaysia Lazada Malaysia Lazada Malaysia